Catholicism Defined.

Catholicism Defined.

Catholicism is defined as the attainment of Christianism through the order of the Roman Catholic doctrine and practices which differs from Protestants and orthodox. The basic underlining belief of Christianity is in the general practice of Catholics like the believe in Christ the Son of God, Trinity, Word of God and more but differs in many ways as Catholics uses Apocrypha (Unknown authored Biblical Scriptures that are neither in the Old or New Testament )
These are the underlining characteristics of Catholicism

1. Doctrine

The two major scripts of Catholicism are the Holy Bible and Apocrypha and also various creeds but more especially the Apostles Creed and the Nicene Creed. Catholics believe that spiritual authority eminent from both Scripture and Tradition. The Catholic Doctoring is guided by the Holy Bible, the Church, the Pope, Bishops and Priests.

2. Sacraments

Catholic Church believe in seven different sacraments of the holy spirit Baptism, Holy Eucharist (Holy Communion), Confirmation, Penance and Reconciliation (Confession), Anointing of the sick, Holy Orders and Matrimony. Catholics also believe through their priest transubstantiation occurs during the liturgy of the Holy Eucharist (where bread becomes the body of Christ)

3. Intercession

Intercession in the Catholic is strongly based on Mary’s (Mother of Jesus) intercession at the wedding feast in Kennan. Her role made Jesus to perform his first miracle even when it wasn’t his tome to do so. Saints, Angels and sometimes beings are used for prayer intercession. Icons and status are also used in Catholic Church

4. Salvation

Salvation is obtained through baptism which is why the sacrament of baptism is done on infants. This salvation can also be lost through sin but through perseverance salvation can be maintained.

5. Heaven and Hell

The perpetual existence in happiness or pain in afterlife defines the virtue of a good or bad Christian. Between Heaven and Hell Catholics believe in purgatory a temporary holding area for those that are not pure to enter heaven but not bad enough to be in hell. Catholics believe that with prayers and devotions from people on earth souls in purgatory can be released into heaven.

6. Satan and Demons

Satan was a powerful angel that disobeyed God in heaven and was casted down to earth with all his power and evil. Daemons are fallen angels, they are Satan’s agents.

7. The Rosary

The rosary is a prayer counting beads that is used to say certain prayers in the order of the beads arrangement. These prayers are Apostles Creed, Our Father, Hail Mary, and Glory Be to the Father. Prayer counting beads can also be found in other forms of religion Hinduism, Buddhism and more.

Article by Ustyne

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.